Ex-Students present scholarships

In Friday night ceremonies, Jacksboro High School’s Ex-Students Scholarship Committee Chair Jerry Craft addressed the graduates. He reminded them that the initial college scholarships awarded 32 years ago were two $1,000 scholarships.

“Tonight, we are awarding 13 scholarships in the amount of $111,000,” Craft said. “This will make a total of $1,492,000 awarded.”

Principal donors were the Ed Henry Stewart Trust, the Jacksboro Vision Group, the Jacksboro High Ex-Students, and Reagan Simpson and Angie Leach.

$10,000 scholarships were awarded to Eliz abeth Mosley (Texas Tech), Isabel Rangel (University of Houston), Lillianna Gonzales (TCU), Kobe Thomas (Texas Tech), Jenna Hurd (West Texas A&M), Brynn Pardue (TCU), Andru Botello (Tarleton State), Cody Frie (Midwestern State), and Isabella Grisham (University of North Texas).

$5,000 scholarships were awarded to Savannah Thompson (Weatherford College), Yahir Medina (Weatherford College), Johanna Esqueda (Blinn College and Libby Gunn (Weatherford College).

Jacksboro Newspapers

212 N. Church
PO Drawer 70
Jacksboro, Texas 76458

Phone: (940) 567-2616
FAX: (940) 228-0589