• Article Image Alt Text
    Sammy Hernandez (13) looks to get around a block during the Pirates’ playoff game. Hernandez was an All-District 9-A pick. Courtesy photo/David May

Perrin, Bryson land several players on All-District 9-A football teams

Several Bryson and Perrin football players were selected to the District 9-A football teams recently, selected by the district coaches.

First Team

Perrin had several first teamers on both sides of the ball. Rafael Alvarado was named at both wide receiver and kicker, Adrian Masterson was named at fullback and Sammy Hernandez at spread back. Defensively, Pirates were named at five of the six positions. Lane Self at nose guard, Jake Holmes as a lineman, Raul Martinez as a linebacker, Hernandez as a cornerback and Tyler Welch at safety.

For Bryson, Justin Justus was a first-team offensive player at wide receiver, the only Cowboy on offense. Defensively, Justus was selected as a linebacker, Chris Harris at linebacker and Tyce Reeves at cornerback.

Second Team

Both schools had several on the offensive squad. Perrin had Kendal Armstrong at tight end,  Holmes at center, Martinez  at quarterback, Welch at running back and Landon Draper at utility.

Bryson had Ragen Register at tight end, Drake Huffman at wide receiver, Grayson Allen at spread center, TJ Imotichey at fullback, Landon  Stephens at a back and Taylor Tyson as a special teams player.

Defensively, Perrin’s Draper was a selection at safety as was Bryson’s Register at a lineman, Marcos Espinoza at safety and Josh Leatherwood as a utility player.

Jacksboro Newspapers

212 N. Church
PO Drawer 70
Jacksboro, Texas 76458

Phone: (940) 567-2616
FAX: (940) 228-0589