• Article Image Alt Text

Large candidate field shaping up for Perrin

Deadline to file is Monday

The deadline to file for a place on the ballot in the Perrin-Whitt CISD and the Jack County Hospital District board elections is Monday.

As of Thursday morning, the Perrin school board seats have a field of 10 candidates who have filed.

The Perrin-Whitt CISD Board of Trustees have five positions up for election and the Jack County Hospital District Board of Directors have one for the upcoming November 8 election.

For Perrin, the positions up are currently held by President Mike Withaeger, Vice President Shawn Parker, Tracy Lee, Chad Lambert and Mark Sims who was appointed to the board since the last election.

The positions are all for four-year terms with the exception of the one held by Sims. The individual elected will finish a previous term set to end in 2018. Two candidates have filed for that place, incumbent Sims and Teresa Price.

For the other four at-large seats, incumbents Withaeger and Lambert have filed along with Russell Turner, Johnny Myers, Jason Bryan, Darren Francis, Linda Richardson and James Hall as of Thursday morning.

For the hospital board, the position up for election is currently held by President Shelley Owen. Hospital board terms are three years.

Owens is the only individual to have filed so far.

To file, contact the hospital administrative office or the PWCISD administration.

The last day to register to vote in the November election will be Oct. 11. Early voting begins Oct. 24.

To register to vote, visit the Jack County Courthouse or votetexas.gov. The website also allows voters to check their registration by entering their name, date of birth and county.

Jacksboro Newspapers

212 N. Church
PO Drawer 70
Jacksboro, Texas 76458

Phone: (940) 567-2616
FAX: (940) 228-0589