Candidate filing underway

Candidate filing opens Saturday for the March 6, 2018 Primary Election.

Jack County offices up for election are district judge, district clerk, county judge, county clerk, county treasurer, justice of the peace and county commissioner­s for precincts 2 and 4.

Candidate filing runs from Nov. 11 through 6 p.m. Dec. 11.

To file, candidates should contact the chairperson of the party of their choice. The Jack County Republican Party Chairman is Alton Morris. He may be contacted at 940-229-9644.

The Jack County Democratic Party Chairman is John Barry IV who may be contacted via email at or by phone at 940-229-9526.

There have been no formal announcements made by possible candidates for the county seats up for election.

Last month, County Judge Mitchell Davenport announced his plan to retire after his current term which he will finish up at the end of 2018.

Recently appointed 271st District Judge Brock Smith plans to run to keep his seat.

Incumbent District Clerk Tracie Pippin plans to run again and does County Clerk Vanessa James.

County Treasurer Kim Gibby plans to try for a third term and Justice of the Peace Stacy Spurlock plans to run for her first full term after having been appointed after her predecessor’s retirement then running to complete his current term.

Pct. 2 Commissioner James Brock is planning to run for a third term as is Pct. 4 Commissioner Terry Ward.

Those interested may also file to run for election for party or precinct chair positions through Dec. 11.

Jacksboro Newspapers

212 N. Church
PO Drawer 70
Jacksboro, Texas 76458

Phone: (940) 567-2616
FAX: (940) 567-2071