Article Image Alt Text

No challengers in May Election

With the filing deadline passed, no races will be contested on the May Uniform Election Ballot in county races.

The first day to file was Wednesday, Jan. 15, and filing ran through Friday, Feb. 14. New to this election is the passing of HB 305 in the 86th Legislative Session, which requires political subdivisions to post information regarding the candidates and upcoming election on their website.

The information online includes the political subdivision contact information, elected officials and when their terms are expiring, date and location for the next election and the requirements and deadline for candidate filing. 

The last day to order a general election or special election on a measure was Friday, Feb. 14. The last day to register to vote in the May 2 election will be Thursday, April 2.

Early voting will run Monday, April 20, through Tuesday, April 28. The last day to receive ballot by mail will be on election day at 7 p.m. if not postmarked, or Monday, May 4 at 5 p.m. if postmarked by 7 p.m. at the location of the election on election day. 

Jacksboro ISD 

Jacksboro ISD had two positions up for election in May. Those up for election were the seats held by Ken Swan and Jeff Lewis.

According to Superintendent Dwain Milam, incumbents Lewis and Swan were the only people to file before the deadline.

To file, the candidate must have been a registered voter in Jack County and must reside within the limits of Jacksboro. A candidate had to complete an application for a place on the ballot and submitted the ballot to the secretary of the school board.

City of Jacksboro 

The city of Jacksboro had three positions up for election in the May 2020 election, which were Place 1 held by Cade Cornish, Place 3 held by Greg Robinson and Place 5 held by Craig Fenter.

According to City Secretary Brenda Tarpley, Fenter and Robinson have filed for another term while Libby Gonzales was the only person to file for Place 1.

City of Bryson

The city of Bryson had three positions up for election in the May 2020 election, including the Mayor seat which is held by Sheila Birdwell. The other two city council positions up for election are Heather Neer and Shelly Tinney.

According to City Secretary Trish Shifflett, incumbents Neer and Tinney filed for another term while nobody applied for the Mayoral seat.

Bryson ISD

Bryson ISD had three positions up for election in the upcoming election, which are Place 3 held by T Bob Hauger, Place 4 held by Blake Brooks and Place 5 held by Ronnie Collins.

According to Superintendent Greg London, Hauger, Brooks and Collins were the only people to file for a place on the ballot.

With no contested races, the entities will likely vote to cancel their called elections for May 2.

Jacksboro Newspapers

212 N. Church
PO Drawer 70
Jacksboro, Texas 76458

Phone: (940) 567-2616
FAX: (940) 228-0589